Home / Sports / IPL Most Successful Captions | IPL Live 2018

IPL Most Successful Captions | IPL Live 2018

IPL Most Successful Captions.

10. Yuvraj Singh – Kings XI Punjab, Pune Warriors (M 43, W 21, L21, NR 1; Win % – 59)

Yuvraj led Kings XI Punjab to the semi-final in the inaugural season of the IPL, after a late surge in which they won 9 out of 10 games at a stretch. The next season saw them struggle to maintain consistent form, due to a spate of injuries and unavailability of their Australian stars. After failing to qualify for the semi-finals, Yuvraj was replaced by Kumar Sangakkara as captain for the next season. As captain of Warriors, he experienced his worst season as captain, managing to win only 4 games out of 14.

9. Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore (M 72, W 37, L32, NR 3; Win % – 51)

Ahead of the 2011 season, Kohli was the only Royal Challengers player to be retained, signaling the management’s intent to hold on to him in the long-term. He first took up captaincy duties in the absence of Daniel Vettori in the 2012 season.

8. Virender Sehwag – Delhi Daredevils (M 52, W 28, L 24; Win % – 54)

Sehwag’s captaincy stretched across two fairly successful periods for his side – first in 2008 and parts of 2009, before taking up duties in 2011 and 2012. He led his side to two semi-finals and one play-off, which remain their most successful seasons to date.

7. David Warner – Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad (M 33, W 18, L 15; Win % – 55)

Warner captained Delhi in just two games during his final season with them, losing both of them en route to his side’s wooden spoon finish in the league phase. After being appointed Sunrisers captain, Warner has had his two best IPL seasons yet, finishing as the tournament’s highest scorer in 2015, followed by leading his side to their maiden IPL title in 2016.

6. Shane Warne – Rajasthan Royals (M 55, W 30, L 24; Win % – 56)

Often referred to by his teammates and former cricketers, including the likes of Ian Chappell and Michael Clarke as the “best captain Australia never had”, Warne showed the world why they were right during his time as captain of Rajasthan Royals.

5. Gautam Gambhir – Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders (M 107, W 61, L 45; Win % – 57)

Gambhir led Delhi in Sehwag’s absence during the 2009 season in South Africa, leading them to their second consecutive semi-final. He followed it up with his first full season of leadership in 2010, in which they narrowly missed qualifying from the league phase.

4. Anil Kumble – Royal Challengers Bangalore (M 26, W 15, L 11; Win % – 58)

Initially mocked for being assembled like a Test side, Royal Challengers truly found their mojo under Anil Kumble in the second season, when he led them to a runners-up finish in the absence of captain Kevin Pietersen.

3. MS Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiant (M 143, W 83, L 59, NR 1; Win % – 58)

In terms of silverware and consistency, Dhoni is right up there at the top among IPL’s captains. For eight straight seasons, he led Super Kings to the knockout phase, winning the tournament twice and finishing runners-up on an incredible four other occasions.

2. Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians (M 58, W 34, L 24; Win % – 59)

Rohit Sharma took over captaincy duties after Ricky Ponting’s slump in form during the 2013 season, after which he led them to the title despite early setbacks. They followed it up by reaching the play-offs in the next season, before going on to win the title again in 2015. It was a remarkable season, in which they won 9 out of their last 10 games to regain the trophy.

1. Sachin Tendulkar – Mumbai Indians (M 51, W 30, L 21; Win % – 59)

The IPL’s statistically most successful captain is a man who had mixed luck captaining his country across two tenures. In the IPL, despite not qualifying out of the league phase during his first two seasons, Sachin led them to 19 wins from 28 league games. His stand out season came in 2010, when he had a stellar run with the bat, amassing 618 runs from 14 innings, as Mumbai finished runners-up after losing to Chennai Super Kings in the final.


* Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, commenting, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favour of fair use.

-This video has no negative impact on the original works (It would actually be positive for them)
-This video is also for teaching purposes.
-It is not transformative in nature.
-I only used bits and pieces of videos to get the point across where necessary.

Lastly these videos are to educate people in an entertaining fashion. Given these are very short videos, the short parts we use within them act as a catalyst to further reading.

This Channel Link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC69M0dGAy2jIBODZ4Uk8L4Q
Thanks for Watching.
Please Like and Subscribe.

Check Also

yt 1576 IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List Official 310x165 - IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List (Official)

IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List (Official)

In This Video Is List Of IPL All Teams Retain Players Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: