Home / Sports / IPL Players Retention 2018 Live Updates: Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli Retained By Their Teams

IPL Players Retention 2018 Live Updates: Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli Retained By Their Teams

IPL Players Retention 2018 Live Updates: Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli Retained By Their Teams The Indian Premier League (IPL) Season 11 player retention will be formalised today. IPL 2018 player retention list is out. Not many surprises as teams stick to their star and valuable players ahead of the IPL 2018 auction. Returning to the IPL after serving two year suspension, Chennai Super Kings have retained MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina. IPL giants Mumbai Indians have retained their Indian core. Skipper Rohit Sharma, seamer Jasprit Bumrah and all-rounder Hardik Pandya will continue to turn out in MI colours. The only surprise so far has been KKR releasing their skipper Gautam Gambhir and retaining Sunil Narine and Andre Russell. On the expected lines, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab eye a clean slate as they retain one player each. Steve Smith stays at RR and Axar Patel stays with the Punjab unit. Catch live updates of the IPL 2018 player retention process here:

IPL 2018 Player retention Live Updates: 0726 pm: Biggest surprise so far has been KKR releasing Gautam Gambhir. This means the veteran left-hander a very successful captain in the league goes in the auction pool. They have also released the likes of Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa and Shakib-al-Hasan

0720 pm: Steve Smith on retention: “I am really excited to be standing by the Rajasthan Royals in this season of the IPL. Its a great franchise with great people around. I loved playing for them in the past and I am looking forward to once again joining the team and making a big difference in the IPL this year.”

0704 pm: First comments! “For the 11th season of IPL, we are pleased to retain Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan. Virat has been a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore since the inception of the league, and is the team’s captain – on and off the field. The camaraderie and team work between Virat and AB de Villiers has been the backbone of the team for several seasons and we want to build on that. Sarfaraz is one of the players we believe will rise to great heights, not just in the IPL but in world cricket. We believe that together, Virat, AB de Villers and Sarfaraz embody the ‘play bold andfearless’ outlook that is inherent in RCB, and we are excited to retain them for IPL 2018,” said Amrit Thomas, Chairman of Royal Challengers Bangalore

0700 pm: As far as the league fee is concerned, Virat Kohli is the most expensive player at Rs 17 crore, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma second most expensive with fee of Rs 15 crore each. David Warner and Steve Smith at Rs 12 crore each for Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals respectively

0650 pm: Right then, here’s the complete list of the players retained by the teams ahead of IPL 2018 auctions

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan (uncapped)

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya

Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith

Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel Mumbai Indians are all set to retain their skipper Rohit Sharma along with Pandya brothers, Hardik and Krunal, while under- performing Delhi Daredevils may keep Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer in their stable ahead of the IPL auction on January 27. The Chennai Super Kings are set to retain three of their marquee players — skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, IPL superstar Suresh Raina and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja while Dwayne Bravo, if fit, is all but certain to be bought back with Right To Match card. David Warner looks certain to be retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad who can also retain the immensely talented Deepak Hooda by paying Rs 3 crore for the uncapped player just like MI will be doing for Krunal. Steve Smith is expected to be retained by Rajasthan Royals after having spent two years at the Rising Pune Supergiants.

Player Retention Policy:

The IPL Governing Council had announced that a franchise could retain up to five players by virtue of a combination of player retention (pre-player auction) and right to match (RTM) (during the player auction). The sources said the franchise would send the list of retained players soon with the cut-off date for forwarding the wish-list is January 4, 2018.

A maximum of either 3 retention or 3 RTM at the discretion of the franchises can be made.

If there is no retention before player auction then franchises can have up to 3 RTM.

Catch all the live updates of IPL Players Retention 2018 straight from Mumbai.
19:05 IST: Here is the complete list. Virat Kohli is the most expensive player after being retained for Rs. 17 crore followed by MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma, who were retained for Rs. 15 crore.

Check Also

yt 1576 IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List Official 310x165 - IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List (Official)

IPL 2018 Retation All Team Full List (Official)

In This Video Is List Of IPL All Teams Retain Players Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: